Patients with gluten intolerance or celiac disease are unable to digest gluten found in wheat and many other grains. See the list down below for a detailed list of foods to eat or avoid.
Tips for eating out
Eating can be particularly difficult at places such as restaurants. Most restaurant state allergens next to each meal, but there are still some that don’t and some that have misleading information printed out. Other thing restaurants often do not realize is that once you prepare a gluten free meal in the same pan (even worse same oil) where you have previously prepared a meal containing gluten, the food no longer is gluten free. The key is to stick with similar meals that you would normally have at home such as grilled meats or steamed vegetables and side dishes which are not fried. Foods to definitely avoid include fried foods as the oil or pans might contain gluten and certain sauces are better to be avoided as they have often flour added in them.
Having celiac disease requires extra caution when eating out. It is always good to notify the chef of the special requirements, even when ordering a seemingly gluten free meal. Certain types of restaurants mostly fast foods are out of question, bakeries too offer gluten free products only very rarely. If you are planning a dinner at some special place it is never too careful to call in advance and notify them of your requirements to see what can be done.